ACSA 2019 Awards Announced

March 28, 2019 Staff Writer

One of ACSA's priorities is to ensure that school leaders are recognized for their excellence. Through our annual awards program, we honor students, administrators and community organizations for their achievements and their dedication to public education.

ACSA’s Awards Committee has completed the challenging task of selecting the statewide Administrator of the Year award recipients. After reviewing the 265 high-quality nominations that came forward, the committee selected the honorees for 2019. We offer our sincerest congratulations to all of this year's nominees, who without exception represent the excellence and commitment of California's educators.

2019 statewide recipients will be honored at ACSA’s Leadership Summit, Nov. 7-9 in San Francisco. More information about the awards program can be found at

2019 Special Awards

Ferd. Kiesel Memorial Distinguished Service Award:

Suzan T. Solomon
Newhall School District Governing Board Member, Newhall School District
Region 15

Marcus Foster Memorial Award for Administrator Excellence:

Dr. Julie Mitchell
Superintendent, Rowland Unified School District
Region 15

Robert E. Kelly Award:

Sheila McGann-Tiedt
Region 8

Partners in Educational Excellence Award:

Torrance Education Foundation
Region 14

Valuing Diversity Award:

Dr. Michele Bowers
Superintendent, Lancaster School District
Region 15

2019 Administrators of the Year

Superintendent of the Year:

David C. Hansen
Superintendent, Riverside Unified School District
Region 19

Secondary Principal of the Year:

Andrew W. Ishibashi
Principal, Lowell High School, San Francisco Unified School District
Region 5

Middle Grades Principal of the Year:

Dr. Shana Henry
Principal, Martin Luther King, Jr. Techology Academy, Twin Rivers Unified School District
Region 3

Elementary Principal of the Year:

Barbara LaCorte
Principal, Hope School, Hope School District
Region 13

Central Office Administrator of the Year - County/District:

Kathryn Allaman
Assistant Superintendent, Secondary Education, Folsom Cordova Unified School District
Region 3

Secondary Co-Administrator of the Year:

Jason Ross
Assistant Principal, Edison High School, Huntington Beach Union High School District
Region 17

Elementary Co-Administrator of the Year:

Sherry Villaneda
Vice Principal, Henry F. Kammann, Salinas City Elementary School District
Region 10

Classified Leader of the Year:

Dr. Karla Rhay
Chief Executive Officer, California Schools JPA
Region 12

Confidential Employee of the Year:

B. Gale Hill
Executive Assistant to the Superintendent & Board of Trustees, San Jacinto Unified School District
Region 19

Personnel/Human Resources Administrator of the Year:

Felix Avila
Assistant Superintendent, Human Resources, Ocean View School District
Region 17

Adult Education Administrator of the Year:

Dana Carter
Principal, Yucaipa Adult School, Yucaipa-Calimesa Joint Unified School District
Region 12

Career Technical Education Administrator of the Year:

Dr. Grant Litfin
Assistant Superintendent, Administrative Services, Tustin Unified School District
Region 17

Special Education Administrator of the Year:

Dr. Alana Hughes-Hunter
Executive Director, Ontario- Montclair School District
Region 12

Superintendent/Principal of the Year:

Don Aust
Superintendent/Principal, Black Butte Union Elementary School District
Region 1

Business Services Administrator of the Year:

Donna Caperton
Assistant Superintendent of Business Services, Vista Unified School District
Region 18

Student Services Administrator of the Year:

Dr. John C. Porter
Assistant Superintendent, Palmdale School District
Region 15

Curriculum & Instruction Administrator of the Year:

David Lee Scroggins, Jr.
Assistant Superintendent Curriculum & Instruction, Rescue Union School District
Region 2

Continuation/Educational Options Administrator of the Year:

Andres Luna II
Principal, Dr. John H. Milor High School, Rialto Unified School District
Region 12

Professor of Education of the Year:

Dr. Scott Siegel
Superintendent/Adjunct Professor, California State University, Stanislaus, Ceres Unified School District
Region 7

Retired Administrator of the Year:

Patricia Crowder, Ed.D.
Region 18

Technology Administrator of the Year:

Dr. Kelly May-Vollmar
Chief Innovation and Information Officer, Desert Sands Unified School District
Region 19


Previous Article
Campaign pushes for ‘full and fair’ funding
Campaign pushes for ‘full and fair’ funding

ACSA and the California School Boards Association have partnered to launch a Full and Fair Funding campaign...

Next Article
Governor signs charter school transparency bill
Governor signs charter school transparency bill

Gov. Gavin Newsom recently signed Senate Bill 126, historic legislation requiring all schools that receive ...